On coins and lemons

Today I had lunch at the Fish n’ Chips place here on Kangaroo Point in Brisbane. It was all fried goodness – a golden crumb battered fried fillet o’ dory and glistening french fries perfectly crisped.  Matt and I had eaten there a few days ago and those fries had haunted my dreams.  On the counter, just above the register, there is a huge clear glass vase filled with water with a large swollen lemon floating on the surface.  On a piece of paper taped to the vase it says, “Balance a 20 cent coin or larger on the lemon for more than 3 seconds and win a free meal!”  Last time we were there, Matt slipped a 20 cent coin out of his pocket and bounced his hand around above the lemon trying to figure out how to place the coin.  “A ten year old can do it,”  the guy behind the counter said. “His parents lift him up and he puts the coin on it just like that. He’s done it three times.”  Matt’s fingers hover above the distorted piece of fruit, then he sets the coin on the lemon and, unceremoniously, the lemon rolls lazily on its side and there’s a faint clink as the coin hits bottom, joining at least a dozen others.  “Ah, maybe next time, mate,” the guy says.  Matt smiles mischieviously and digs into his pocket again.

I’m not quite sure yet about starting another blog, especially when I don’t feel like I have anything specific to write about this time.  My first blog was about studying for the bar exam and trying to get a job as a lawyer, and my second blog was about how I ditched all that law stuff, got married and set sail across the South Pacific.  Both had deliberate messages, both had intended audiences.  This blog – well, this blog doesn’t really have either.  But, I just kind of LIKE having a blog and being part of the blogging community so here I go again.  Aside from just being a venue for me to write in, I suppose this blog will eventually become another way for friends and family to keep tabs on us as we wander around trying to figure out what life holds for us next.

So, in honor of my new blog, today I dropped another coin on the lemon. Not because I necessarily thought I’d win any prizes, but just because it’s so much fun to do  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On coins and lemons

  1. Elaine in Mpls says:

    Hi Karen!

    So … blog on – and on, and on, and on! It’s been ever-so-much fun following your travels and travails (well, not so much FUN as interesting with the travails) and I’m pretty darn sure the next chapter of your life will be just as fun (and interesting)!

    Love ~ Elaine

Leave a Reply

